Categories
A REVIEWS A- Review B Review B REVIEWS Review Urban Fantasy

Joint Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh

Where did you get the book: Arc from author
What is the Publisher: Berkely
When is the release date:25th January 2011

Blurb taken from Goodreads

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux and her lover, the lethally beautiful archangel Raphael, have returned home to New York only to face an uncompromising new evil…

A vampire has attacked a girls’ school—the assault one of sheer, vicious madness—and it is only the first act. Rampant bloodlust takes vampire after vampire, threatening to make the streets run with blood. Then Raphael himself begins to show signs of an uncontrolled rage, as inexplicable storms darken the city skyline and the earth itself shudders.

The omens are suddenly terrifyingly clear.

An ancient and malevolent immortal is rising. The violent winds whisper her name: Caliane. She has returned to reclaim her son, Raphael. Only one thing stands in her way: Elena, the consort who must be destroyed…

Has: Its going to be hard to remain spoiler free with a joint review but we are going to aim for that because Archangel’s Consort has some major revelations and plot turns. I have been eagerly looking forward to this book for so long.  I was especially interested in seeing how Elena would react and cope coming back to her home city as an Angel.

I was also especially interested in seeing how the people she worked with would react with her new changes and how that would affect her relationship with Raphael as well as the friends and family.

Ying: Me too! I was looking forward to see how Elena’s family will react, especially her dad and sister. I knew it would change Elena’s relationship with her family, friends and colleagues, I was eager to read how it will pan out. It’s great that this book is set in New  York, her hometown.

Has: Oh yes! That was building up for a long time and I loved the twist and revelation about her confrontation with her father and the repercussions of that and with her half sisters.

Ying: OMG! Her sisters! Very interesting developments. I’m not going to say too much because I don’t want to spoil it for other readers.

Has: I really didn’t see that coming but I think that we will see more of about Elena’s past and especially her family history. It really feels like each book Nalini unveils a new layer of secrets and revelations.

Ying: That’s what I like about Nalini. She has a clear story arc /direction and knows exactly how much to reveal in each book.

Has: I think this book really dealt with the themes of parents and children. I loved how it touched on Raphael and his mother and how that affected the general plot of the book. But also the side plot with Elena and her father and the revelations about her mother’s death and past family history. I really felt like that Raphael and Elena bonded on another level with this book due to this, but also working out their issues about the equalities in their relationship.

Ying: Yes, it also shows why these two are compatible. They help each other through hard time. They are so much alike. Another thing I liked about this book is the strong female friendship between Sarah and Elena. I must say also that the book jacket is beautiful! I finally see Elena’s wings properly! However I don’t think this relationship will ever be equal.

Has: I loved that aspect of the book although I wished there was more scenes with Sarah and Elena. I think with a lot of Urban Fantasy there isn’t enough close female friendships and I think this is one of the best portrayals I’ve read in a series. I do think that Raphael realises this. He has stated if he doesn’t let Elena do her own thing, he will cage her and  lose her in the long run. So in some ways he has limitations as well. While he may be more physically powerful, he can’t overpower her mentally or emotionally because if he crosses that line he will lose her.

I do love a scene in the end where he realises that loving Elena might have made him vulnerable, but that became a strength and I liked how that implication equalizes their relationship. I also loved the fact that loving Elena may be a weakness to some of the angels in this series but she is becoming his touchstone and I like how Raphael is discovering the good aspects of humanity. Whilst Elena is discovering what being an immortal is like but she also has Raphael and her friends and sisters to ground her.

Ying: I know, he is trying really hard to let her have her freedom. I think they will balance that out in their relationship. However, she will always needs his protection when it comes to interactions with other archangels. In many ways, this series remind me of JD Robb’s Eve and Roarke.

Has: Oh I agree – it really feels like that but it has its own unique take/setting as well. I really find that this series is fast becoming one of my all time favourite series!

Ying: I do love the setting. I like the symbiosis relationship between the angels and vampires. However, I find myself fading off a bit when I read about her recurring nightmares.

Has: I really can’t think of anything negative in this book.

Ying: What really stood out for me about this book is family and friendship.  Sarah& and Elena, Bluebell (swoon) and Elena, Bluebell and Raphael, etc.  The relationships and friendships of the characters are intricately woven in the series.

Has: Oh I agree, and I definitely join you with the swooning over Bluebell :D. I also loved that with Archangel’s Consort we get to see Elena back to her roots as a Guild Hunter. I really missed that element and I didn’t see the answer to the mystery until right till the end.

Ying: Oh my! The end scene! More mystery! I’m squealing quietly here because I don’t want to give anything away!

Has: I know!
I think the only thing I would really like is to see more of the final confrontation at the end with the big threat. I felt that was a bit anti-climatic because there was a lot of buildup and it felt rushed. Although it definitely leaves me panting for more! This book really feels like a huge set up/showdown for Raphael and Elena.

Ying: Ditto! I was expecting a big final showdown or a big twist. However, I’m sure that the big confrontation will come in a near future.
Can you believe it, we have nearly finished the review and we didn’t once mention hot smex! O_0

Has: LOL. Along with a fast pace plot with an intriguing mystery, there was some fantastic hot scenes with Raphael and Elena. I especially loved the lessons in the flying scene ;).

Ying: *fans-self* Also, can I say again how much I love my Bluebell (in case I haven’t said it often enough before)?

Has: I think the Guild Hunter series gets better and better and I loved how Archangel’s Consort really delved into the personal aspects of Elena and Raphael’s past and their relationship whilst having an intriguing mystery that adds to the ongoing plot. I think my only gripe which is minor is the ending which I felt was anti-climatic. I wished there was more of a confrontation although I suspect that the fallout will be dealt with in the next book. However I think with this book, the series will be cemented as one of the best paranormal/UF series around!

I give Archangel’s consort a A-

Ying: It definitely leave you wanting more. I love it when a story surprises me and I especially love it when an author has a clear plan and taking us in a journey with no detours (no filler books)!

I give Archangel’s Consort a B.

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

5 replies on “Joint Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh”

Me too! 😀

But I have to say for me its the best book I read that started off the New Year! I really think this book cements the series for me – cannot wait for Dimitri’s book and its out later this year!

Nice review but I’m dying for it even more! I made the mistake of revisiting books 1 & 2 in series already and I’m counting down the days. This series is definitely rising in the list of my favorites.

And for anyone who enjoys audiobooks, both books of this series are available (in the US) and I enjoyed listening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.