Categories
Giveaway Guest Post

Guest Post: Regina by Carrie Lofty & Song of Seduction Giveaway!

Regina by Carrie Lofty

One of the wonderful benefits of writing historical romance is research–wonderful, at least, for a history buff such as myself. I love finding unusual men and women who’ve since fallen through the cracks of history, and occasionally I’m lucky enough to bring their realities into my fiction.

When writing SONG OF SEDUCTION , about a widowed violin prodigy and the renowned composer she idolizes, I wanted to see if women in 1804 had been allowed to perform as violinists. My research led me to a violinist named Regina Strinassachi, who is best remembered because she and Mozart performed together for Joseph II, the Holy Roman Emperor, in 1784. Mozart’s “Sonata in B flat for Violin and Keyboard” (K. 454) is also known as the “Strinassachi Sonata.”

By all accounts, K. 454 is a very difficult piece, which speaks to Mozart’s high opinion of Strinassachi. He often wrote puff pieces for influential patrons’ children who had mediocre talent, but this was not one of them. In a letter to his father, Mozart wrote: “We now have here the famous Strinasacchi from Mantua, a very good violinist. She has a great deal of taste and feeling in her playing. I am this moment composing a sonata which we are going to play together on Thursday at her concert in the theater.”

Reading this account sparked off possibilities in my mind. Although women violinists were exceedingly rare, Regina proved that it was possible. I only look for the possible when writing historical romance, knowing that suspending disbelief won’t be utterly impossible for my readers!

In the following excerpt, SONG OF SEDUCTION’s heroine, Mathilda Heidel, first meets Regina–who’s known as Frau Schlick, having married a cellist in 1785. Talented but hesitant about pursuing a future in music, Mathilda has no idea that such a woman exists in the world. Arie de Voss–Mathilda’s idol, mentor, and soon-to-be lover–is intent on showing her what future awaits…if she’s brave enough.

***

Arie stood next to an elegant woman in her early forties. She wore an exquisite gown of ice-blue silk and ivory lace trim. Gray-streaked black hair arranged in an elaborate coiffure of spirals and curls accentuated the graceful lines of her neck and slender face. Magnetic black eyes shone from beneath heavy dark lashes. An oblong bruise along her left jaw marred her otherwise flawless olive skin.

Mathilda had never seen such an arresting woman.

“De Voss, there you are,” Haydn said.

“Gute Abend, Kapellmeister. And Frau Heidel. Lovely to see you.” Arie bowed deeply, his air bright and amused. He turned to present the elegant woman. “Allow me to present Frau Regina Schlick.”

“I am honored to meet you both,” the woman said. Her lilting Italian accent created melody out of plain speech. “Herr De Voss has told me you perform exquisitely.”

“Thank you.” Mathilda smiled broadly at the unexpected compliment. That Arie would speak of her in glowing terms to this exotic woman warmed her from top to toes. “The maestro flatters me.”

“Nonsense. He recognizes talent almost as well as he composes.” Frau Schlick turned and touched his arm. Mathilda fought an urge to slap her hand away. “Sir, your violin concerti remain among the most thrilling I know. I must have one of my own. You have promised for years.”

“Quality requires patience, my dear.” His smooth response convinced even Mathilda of his sincerity. He sounded perfectly gracious and even…charming?

Watching the exchange, her uncertainty increased. She never could have imitated the mysterious woman’s air of unquestioned authority, holding the rapt attention of every man within earshot. Arie smiled warmly and with an expression of genuine interest. Despondently, Mathilda wondered if he and the stylish woman had been intimate.

But no–he remained poised and cool, ignoring the fawning guests. Surely a public reunion with a former lover would throw her reticent Dutchman into bashful fits.

As patrons began to find seats, Haydn whisked the intriguing Frau Schlick to the front of Kaisersaal. Mathilda turned to her Dutch compass for direction. “Arie, who is she?”

“Patience. This way.”

They found seats almost halfway back from the tiny ensemble of musicians, away from the most prominent gossips. Mathilda settled her skirts and enjoyed the pleasant thrill of Arie’s thigh pressing against her own. She would not have retreated from his heat for all the world.

Duke Ferdinand took his seat in the center of the front row, while a handful of musicians assumed their appropriate places. Three violinists, two violists and two cellists briefly tuned their instruments in an incomplete double string quartet.

She leaned closer to Arie. “There are but seven musicians. Where is the other violinist?”

“Look.”

To Mathilda’s amazement, Frau Regina Schlick accepted her violin from an assistant and took her place at the head of the ensemble.

***

When you read historical romances, do you like to read about real people who shared the same time and place as the fictional protagonists? Do they clutter up the romantic fantasy? Which favorite “real life” historical characters have you read in romance?

Tormented by guilt. Haunted by scandal. Freed by love.

Austria, 1804

Eight years ago, composer Arie De Voss claimed his late mentor’s final symphony as his own and became an icon. But fame has a price: fear of discovery now poisons his attempts to compose a redemptive masterpiece. Until a new muse appears, intoxicating and inspiring him…

Mathilda Heidel renounced her own musical gift to marry, seeking a quiet life to escape the shame surrounding her birth. Sudden widowhood finds her tempted by song once more. An unexpected introduction to her idol, Arie De Voss, renews Mathilda’s passion for the violin–and ignites a passion for the man himself.

But when lust and lies reach a crescendo, Arie will be forced to choose: love or truth?

Thanks to Carrie, we also have a giveaway for Song of Seduction up for grabs! All you need to do is comment below. (Note this is an ebook and not a print book)

The giveaway ends Friday 18th, June at 12 am GMT.

Good Luck and a huge thanks to Carrie Lofty for visiting and for the wonderful giveaway!

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

10 replies on “Guest Post: Regina by Carrie Lofty & Song of Seduction Giveaway!”

I love when real history gets woven in with the fiction history. One of my favorite historical series is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, and I love that she incorporates so much real history into her books. I think it’s absolutely incredible. *bow* to those who can do it well!!

This sounds like a very interesting book. I love when the author has done good research; it always adds that extra realism to the story. And the dilemma sounds very ‘real’ to me.

I think adding real historical figures to fictional stories gives a story more depth – it gives a better frame of reference for me when I read the story, I get a better understanding of what may be going on in the world at that time. I agree with MinnChica, Outlander is one of my favorite historical series.

Hi everyone,

A hearty thank you, first, to the Book Pushers for allowing me to chat about SONG OF SEDUCTION. Second, thanks to you for stopping by. I agree that I love books where the author’s skillful use of research adds depth to a story, so I’m glad to see that preference mirrored here. Have a great weekend!

Best,
Carrie

I love to read historical romance novels than combine encounters with actual historical figures. Most of us know these famous people’s major accomplishments/stories…but we have no idea what might have happened in their day to day lives…so, for me it’s a great way to involve the author’s fictional characters with real historical figures. Granted it’s not true history…but it might be??? And thats what makes it fun to read!!!

Hi! Adding a real person to a historical makes the story more fun to me. If nothing else, it indicates that the author has gone the extra mile to research the person. The last real “people” in a historical I read were Eclipse and the Godolphin Arabian in Tessa Dare’s “One Dance With a Duke”. These are two extremely famous racehorses. Most modern Thoroughbreds have them in their bloodlines. I was tickled pink to read a mention about them in Dare’s book.

I love it when an author weaves in real-life people/places/events into fiction–when s/he does it well, that really adds a richness to the writing and makes the story even more “real”. I like the sounds of Song of Seduction, Carrie! Thanks for the intro!

I’m almost a history lover and thoroughly enjoy seeing a romance taking place in time. I can enjoy seeing real historical figures show up, but only if they’re well-researched: I once read a badly-written romance where a major historical character acted totally wrong for who she was.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.