Categories
B REVIEWS B+ Review Paranormal Romance Review

Review: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh

Publisher: Berkley

Where did you get the book from: ARC from author

Release date: US date: Out now. UK Release date: Who knows.

Blurb taken from author’s website site:

In his position as tracker for the SnowDancer pack, it’s up to Drew Kincaid to rein in rogue changelings who have lost control of their animal halves—even if it means killing those who have gone too far. But nothing in his life has prepared him for the battle he must now wage to win the heart of a woman who makes his body ignite…and who threatens to enslave his wolf.

Lieutenant Indigo Riviere doesn’t easily allow skin privileges, especially of the sensual kind—and the last person she expects to find herself craving is the most wickedly playful male in the den. Everything she knows tells her to pull back before the flames burn them both to ash…but she hasn’t counted on Drew’s will.

Now, two of SnowDancer’s most stubborn wolves find themselves playing a hot, sexy game even as lethal danger stalks the very place they call home…

In this ninth instalment of the Psy/Changeling series, the focus is back to the shifters and that of the SnowDancer pack, which I am really glad about because I am a huge fan of the Changelings rather than the Psy focused books. In Play of Passion, the book is based on Drew Kincaid, the brother of Riley and Mercy and, Indigo Riviere who is a senior Lieutenant of the SnowDancer pack. Drew has always been drawn to Indigo – even though she is ranked as his senior and is more dominant than he is in the pack rankings, but this does not stop the attraction that forms between them. Whilst they are dealing with their burgeoning feelings for each other, the ongoing political intrigue with the Psy fractions is coming to ahead as they are becoming more fragmented and are beginning to forge alliances. And with the Psy Council who are forming into two different factions for the fight over the future and direction for the Psy.

This book really sets up for a huge confrontation in the next book or so, but that’s not to say the focus on the romance is downplayed in any way. In fact, a lot of the attention and time is spent on the evolving relationship with Drew and Indigo.

The sensual and fierce tension that Drew and Indigo shared with each other was a highlight for me. I swear I could feel the pages sizzle with sexual tension, especially when they both clashed with each other. I also felt that that their courtship was a great twist on gender roles which Nalini twists deftly from the traditional Alpha male/female roles. I liked that even though Drew was very dominant, he also had beta lite qualities. I really loved how this was portrayed because it made his wooing for Indigo progress in an unpredictable way, and I liked how that played out especially when he learned and understood from his mistakes about their dominance issues.

Indigo who is more dominant and older than Drew, did feel exasperating at times because of her self doubts and fears. However I could understand why she would feel like that. But Drew’s fun and easygoing nature helped to balance her more serious side, and the courtship — wooing her with chocolate kisses and flowers in places she least expected it – was hilarious and was a refreshing and fun way to win over a stubborn character. Drew’s relentless chase and determination for Indigo helped to make it a multi-layered romance and I really enjoyed how their relationship evolved and deepened. Drew was wonderful, and although he was easygoing, he had an underlying strength and iron will which made him an ideal mate for her.

The glimpses of the pack is another highlight of the book, and we definitely get to see that in detail in this book. The pack-members interactions with Drew and Indigo and their reaction towards their ongoing romance was also fun and insightful, and I love how detailed and rich the world-building was. I love the earthy and sensual attention to detail about the lives of wolf-pack. In this book we really got an in-depth insight to the characters who lived there.

I also loved the glimpses we got with Hawke, and I am so happy we are going to get his story in the next Psy/Changeling book, Kiss of Snow. Nalini has subtly hinted who his heroine will be in the last few books, but in this book it definitely confirms who I hope it would be.

I can’t say enough good things about Play of Passion and although I was lukewarm about the last Psy/Changeling book, this instalment is one of the best entries to the series. The romance between Indigo and Drew is fun, sexy and intense,  and I loved how the issues of dominance played out along with their romance. Along with the political intrigue that does not overshadow the focus on the romance, Play of Passion is a fantastic book and I can’t hardly wait for the next book or two or three!

I give Play of Passion a B+

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

7 replies on “Review: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh”

Great review Has, I tore through tis novel like a mad woman, I really loved Drew and Indigo togehter, but then I haven’t read a pair by Singh that hasn’t affected me one way or another 🙂 Hawke’s story next year *woohoo* and in January Archangel’s Consort, I can’t wait for both!!

@MinnChica
I think the Changelings are my favourite – I am really looking forward to the Falcons and what will happen with them and I would like to see more about the Rats- I know rats are sexy but the shifter in the Play of Passion looked sexy and I would be open to read about a sexy rat Changeling!

@Leontine
I am counting the days for Hawke’s story – seriously its one of my long awaited books hee :d

@Blodeudd
Can never have enough Changeling lovin’ 😀

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.