Categories
C Review C REVIEWS Contemporary Romance Review

Review: For the Love of Mollie by KT Grant

Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Where did you get it: E-arc from the author
Publication date: Out Now

Blurb taken from Goodreads:

Mollie McGree is on a mission to seduce her best friend, the sexy masseuse Juan-Carlos. But she wants to lose a few extra pounds first. She joins a gym run by self-made millionaire and personal trailer, Conner Bean. Conner thinks Mollie doesn’t need to lose any weight, and is perfect the way she is. He plans to seduce the curvy Mollie by giving her his own special training sessions in passion and desire.

Soon Mollie is enjoying a no-holds-barred love affair with the vibrant and skilled Conner. But self-esteem issues on her part, as well as her unresolved feelings for Juan-Carlos, cause her to second guess Conner’s motives. Conner will stop at nothing until he claims Mollie’s heart for his own

For the Love of Mollie is a love story about an ordinary woman who hates the imperfections about her body. This really affects her confidence and self esteem about her desirability. However, she soon discover sand later learns that those imperfections can be desirable when she catches the eye of hunky gym owner, Connor Bean, where she works out.

It’s refreshing to read about a woman who was relatable due to her body size and how that affected her esteem, but even better was Mollie being older than Connor. And I thought that was a different take from the usual older and more experienced woman with a younger man.  I liked how Connor helped her to see that her size was not an issue, but found her attractive and it was a positive attribute for his desire for her.

Connor was charming and sweet, and I liked how he wooed Mollie out of her shell over the course of their romance. It made her feel more confident in herself. Their relationship was fun and filled with lots of pleasurable moments with each other.

However, her crush on JC was sidelined very quickly and was smoothed over in the beginning of the novella, especially with the added complications of her best friend, Suzy, who clearly has something happening with JC. I felt that Mollie would have felt more angrier or upset about that rather than simply dismissing it. There was also the ending which I found to be cliched with Connor being caught out by Mollie with a self entitled and mercenary styled bimbo who is after him sexually. I felt that because he was so sensitive to Mollie and to women in general he could have avoided being alone with her. I’m not a huge fan of this type of misunderstanding because the resolution never rings true for me.

Overall,  For the Love of Mollie is a sweet love story with likeable and relatable characters. It’s a quick read that highlights that old adage which rings true, that beauty is really about the eye of the beholder.

I give For The Love of Mollie a C

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

2 replies on “Review: For the Love of Mollie by KT Grant”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.