Categories
C REVIEWS C+ Review Erotic Romance

Review: Platinum by Jeffe Kennedy

17204850Where did you get the book: Netgalley ARC

Publisher: Carina Press

Release date: Out now

 

 

 

 

Althea Grant’s Charleston gallery might be suffering from the bad economy, and her artistic aspirations have gone nowhere, but she’s doing just fine, thank you. When bad-boy sculptor Steel rides up on his motorcycle looking to rent studio space, his infusion of cash is more than welcome. But his art is raw, visceral, sexual—and completely inappropriate for her pastel world of watercolor landscapes.

Steel, fascinated by Althea’s rare albino coloring, sees in her the key to his next piece: a metal satyr designed for bondage games. Moving into her gallery basement is the first step; seducing the cool Southern belle into modeling for him is the second.

As Steel peels away her careful manners and tasteful outfits, Althea begins to realize her life isn’t just fine at all—it’s as pale and washed-out as the watercolor paintings she’s failing to sell. Can she transform her life and accept her most secret desires?

Blurb taken from Goodreads

Last year, I discovered Jeffe Kennedy after discovering fantasy romance, Rogue’s Pawn which I adored! I have checked out her backlist which I also enjoyed so when I saw Platinum available at Netgalley, I grabbed at the chance to review. I was intrigued by the premise of an albino heroine and a gruff, sexy biker hero that is currently my favourite type of hero at the moment.

Althea Grant is an art gallery owner who is struggling financially to keep her business afloat. When sculpter, Steel, enters her premises asking for space to rent out for his new commission, she is reluctantly drawn to the dangerously attractive artist who is the total opposite of the men she has dated before. However despite her intentions in not succumbing to her feelings, Althea embarks on a relationship which threatens her innermost inhibitions.

Platinum is a very sexy read which had some sizzling love scenes. I do have to say that Steel was one hot and tantalizing hero! I really liked how he managed to break down Althea’s emotional walls which had an ice maiden presence. I also loved the imagery of this rough and ready biker and an albino heroine with her ice cool and ethereal demeanor. It really added to the tone and tension of the romance. It almost made me feel that it had a Hades and Persephone overtones, especially when Althea ventured downstairs to the basement where Steel was working and accepting his offer of an affair. I also loved the build-up to that moment because their sexual tension was tangible, and I was so rooting for Althea to drop her boring boyfriend, and loosen up and explore her passionate side which was definitely repressed. It was something that Steel saw and recognised in her, and when they did get together it was truly explosive!

Nonetheless I was also kind of lukewarm on Althea’s character. Whilst I really loved Steel–who did not give a damn on what people thought and reveled with his sense of earthy sensuality which he also illustrates with his art–I found it harder to get into Althea’s character. I wanted more fire and passion from her, especially when Steel challenged and introduced her into opening up her sensual side. And while the love scenes were beautifully written, I just felt she was a bit too cool and passive for me.

But she started to reject the restrictive conventions that she was brought up with, especially her parents wishes and desires of being the perfect daughter. I wished that aspect  was explored more fully  in throwing these conventional chains away. It felt too brief and there was no conflict or development and just empathised how passive Althea was to me. It may be due to the story length which was a novella, although, I found the main plot and ending of the romance to be satisfactory. But I did feel the second half kind of lost steam and it affected the pace.

Overall, whilst I had reservations about Althea’s character, the romance between her and Steel was sexually intense and it was the highlight of the book. I also loved the use of the imagery which I think is pretty much a trademark of Jeffe Kennedy because it’s lush and vivid and it propelled me into book because it was that rich in tone. Platinum is a highly enjoyable erotic romance, filled with sexual tension.

I give Platinum a C+

Purchase Links

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.