Categories
Uncategorized

Review: When I’m With You Parts 3 and 4

17281127Where did you get the book: E-arcs from Publisher

Publisher: Berkley

Release Dates: Both out now

 

Part 3 in new 8 part serial.

 

The next serial sensation from Beth Kery, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Because You Are Mine.

New York Times bestselling author Beth Kery’s blistering new novel of a man and woman bound by the scandalous secrets of the past–and by the sexual hunger that still fuels their uncontrollable desires…

Restaurateur and self-exiled heir Lucien Lenault’s first look at the breathtaking young chef trainee for his trendy Chicago restaurant is a shock. She’s Elise Martin, daughter of a wealthy French fashion designer. She’s also the holder of a secret that could explode his carefully laid plans.

Notorious for her flagrant exhibitionism, and for flouting the respectable façade of her aristocratic background, the coquine’s wild streak shocked most people. Not Lucien. He was tempted by it. It was a deliriously punishable offense as far as Lucien was concerned. But taking on Elise is more than a game. She’s a catastrophe waiting to happen, an inferno that’s burned many a lover. Lucien isn’t most men, however, and he won’t allow her to manipulate him. In order to control the defiant beauty–in order to see her submit–he’s going to have to willingly walk in the flames…

 

 


*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

 

Part 3

 

This was a pretty short entry in the serial, although there was more heat-filled and sexually charged scenes which hints that Lucien and Elise’s consummation will be scorching. But this leaves Elise very frustrated because after a stolen moment where they indulge in a very hot BJ scene, Lucien backs down and hides behind a cool facade which upsets her. Leaving the engagement party, Elise goes back to her run-down hotel where its the only place she can afford after being cut-off by her wealthy father. Elise encounters her skeevy neighbour and before anything bad can happen, Lucien arrives on the scene. Lucien is pissed off with her for leaving the party and without letting him know. He saves her from the sleazy neighbour but he is shocked at the place she is residing at.

 

I found the third installment a bit of a disappointment from the previous entry in the serial which packed more momentum and plot. Although there were some very hot and sexy moments with Elise and Lucien, there wasn’t a lot of development in the plot. Elise is resentful that when she manages to break through to Lucien, either emotionally or sexually, he would then later hide behind his walls because of his defences being broached and his control being challenged. The power play and the sexual tension between Elise and Lucien ratchets up a notch which is fun to see it playing out.

 

Overall, despite my dissatisfaction with this part of the serial–which was due to how short it was and literally left hanging when it ended because it ended on a very good part – and I am enjoying reading this as a serial. Getting frustrated is part of the charm, although I was very glad I had part four in hand after a couple of days!

 

I give When I’m With You – Part 3 a C-

 

17281133

Part 4

 

In part 4 things are really set in motion when Lucien discovers Elise is living in a ramshackled hotel and makes an offer to her. He asks that she should move in with him. And despite feeling some reluctance, she agrees. Whilst I was dissatisfied with the previous installment, things are really back on track in this entry. I really felt there was more plot and the pacing definitely brought events to a head between Elise and Lucien, sexually and emotionally.

 

The relationship between Elise and Lucien is definitely two steps forward and one step back territory. This is very disheartening for Elise who is finally feeling more open, vulnerable and drawn to Lucien. He is the first man who has broken through her facade of a devil-may-care socialite. Yet the secret he has about his connection to Ian is starting to drive a wedge between them because ever since Elise catches Lucien spying on him, he is reluctant to explain his reasons. And Elise fears he’s only holding her close to him (by asking her to move in with him) so he’s able to control her, and this creates more tension between them.

 

However, I loved the foreplay love scenes that led up to the big consummation scene, and when it happened it was filled with sizzling sexual tension and it was very very hot. But I was not keen on how Elise broke through Lucien’s control because it was a TSTL moment. It was part of her impulsiveness, and this is what I liked about the story and the characters and especially the themes of control vs letting go. The love scenes really conveyed intimacy, and letting go via sex and the outside world in which they both built up walls. This is the major theme with Lucien and Elise. Unlike Ian and Francesca’s story which dealt with wider issues, Lucien and Elise’s story focuses on them and it definitely felt more intimate and I really liked that because it felt more erotically charged for me and it strengthened the romance.

 

I give Part 4 a B-

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.