Categories
B REVIEWS B+ Review Contemporary Romance

Review: Tangled by Emma Chase

16073738

Where did you get the book: Bought
Publisher: Omnific
Release Date: Out now

Drew Evans is a winner. Handsome and arrogant, he makes multimillion dollar business deals and seduces New York’s most beautiful women with just a smile. He has loyal friends and an indulgent family. So why has he been shuttered in his apartment for seven days, miserable and depressed?

He’ll tell you he has the flu.

But we all know that’s not really true.

Katherine Brooks is brilliant, beautiful and ambitious. She refuses to let anything – or anyone – derail her path to success. When Kate is hired as the new associate at Drew’s father’s investment banking firm, every aspect of the dashing playboy’s life is thrown into a tailspin. The professional competition she brings is unnerving, his attraction to her is distracting, his failure to entice her into his bed is exasperating.

 Then, just when Drew is on the cusp of having everything he wants, his overblown confidence threatens to ruin it all. Will he be able untangle his feelings of lust and tenderness, frustration and fulfillment? Will he rise to the most important challenge of his life?

Can Drew Evans win at love?

Tangled is not your mother’s romance novel. It is an outrageous, passionate, witty narrative about a man who knows a lot about women…just not as much as he thinks he knows. As he tells his story, Drew learns the one thing he never wanted in life, is the only thing he can’t live without.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

Drew Evans is a confident, successful with a healthy appetite for the ladies, although he is not a man who yearns for monogamy and is happy to love em and leave em. But when he meets Kate, something changes and he soon develops feelings which scares him. And even though Kate is engaged and isn’t reciprocating his overtures, Drew is determined to win her over. However, the path to love, wooing and getting the girl is not that easy!

Tangled is a book that may not be for everyone because it features a hero who is truly the epitome of the ‘cock’ in cocky bastard but at the same time he is charming, funny and witty–even though he is an unapologetic womaniser. I think Emma Chase did a fantastic job in making him likeable even though his thought processes and actions were dubious–albeit entertaining. The book opens up with the worse case of love-sick flu for Drew who narrates his tale to the reader which was witty but also made you feel like bashing him at the same time.  Nonetheless, I did love that this is a book that has a hero who should be unlikeable and unromantic but the moment Drew falls for Kate, it’s like karma has slapped him in the face with Cupid’s bow.

It was such a fun ride to see him flounder and fail when the path to true love was not going to be easy for him, when usually women would fall for his charm and looks. I especially liked that Kate gives as good as she gets which is delightful because the best scenes between them other than in-between the sheets (which was uber hawt) was just as sexy and amusing as well as full of tension. And I liked that Kate was just as witty and smart in dealing with Drew and was the perfect match for him.

 

‘My office door slams open, leaving a dent in the drywall. Here we go.

 “You are driving me crazy!”

Her cheeks are flushed, her breathing’s fast, and she’s got murder in her eyes.

Beautiful.

I raise my brows hopefully. “Crazy? Like you want to rip my shirt open again?”

“No. Crazy like the itch of a yeast infection that just won’t go away.”

I flinch. Can’t help it.

I mean—Christ.

Kate steps toward my desk. “I am trying to work. I need to focus. And you’ve got Manny, Moe, and Jack playing every cheesy eighties song ever written outside my office door!”’

 

Drew did win Kate briefly but lost her when his insecurities about her fiance, who she had broken up with over the course of the book, popped back into her life asking for a reconciliation. The moment Drew realised he made a big mess of it, it was funny and sad. I loved every minute of him trying to win her back. And oh how he does grovel. From flowers being sent every hour to her office, sky writing, and a traveling band that serenades her everywhere. It really helped to redeem his character for me. I believed this was a man who despite his past with discarding women  has truly been bitten by love’s bug and in his own words ‘Pussy whipped’.

“I want to start over. Do things right this time. I want to take you out. Tell you all the things I should have said before. About how amazing I think you are. How important you are to me. Oh, and I’m never going to lie to you again.”

 Ever.

I mean it.

Ten years from now, if Kate asks me if a certain pair of jeans makes her ass look fat—and they do? I’m going to take my life in my hands and say yes.

I swear.

 

Tangled was a true delight. I didn’t think I would love the hero even though he was a cocky bastard at times, but he did win me over and the romance was fun, sexy and amusing. I also recommend that this should come with a laugh out loud warning because I was literally giggling and laughing throughout the book. There is this cinematic feel with Drew’s narration, and IF Tangled ever gets adapted for the big movie treatment, I can see it really working.

I also loved the supporting characters, from Drew’s friends and family. And I most especially loved Dee Dee, the smart PHD chemist who works on refining on rocket fuel for NASA but likes to dress up in sexy clubbing clothes. It was hilarious. I really hope she’s the next heroine in the series. This was a book chock full of humour, charm and a sexy romance. It was so refreshing to read it in Drew’s perspective which is rare to read in romance with the full POV based around the hero.  Emma Chase, I salute you for writing an amusing book with real engaging characters who truly became alive. I think you have firmly become on my autobuy list!

 

I give Tangled a B+

 

Purchase Links:

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

2 replies on “Review: Tangled by Emma Chase”

I read Tangled based on your review and I loved it. Many LOL moments which was fabulous, just what I needed so thank you and I am looking forward to the next book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.