Categories
B Review B REVIEWS Erotic Romance

Review: Because We Belong by Beth Kery (Because You Are Mine #3)

17165589Where did you get the book: Publisher E-arc

Publisher: Berkeley

Release Date: Out Now

Introduced in New York Times bestselling author Beth Kery’s erotic phenomenon Because You Are Mine, they aroused an “addictive and delicious” (USA Today) romance that dared to break the rules of attraction.

In Because We Belong Ian and Francesca return to reignite the exquisite passions that drew them together, and to finally face the intimate secrets that threatened to separate them forever. The secrets of an inescapable past that was one man’s darkest mystery—a darkness that seduced one woman and forever held her spellbound with forbidden desire. For both of them, the next step is total abandon.

*Blurb taken from goodreads*

 

 

 

 

 

Because We Belong is the third book in Beth Kery’s erotic romance series which features dominant, sexy heroes and the heroines who find a chink in their armours. I reviewed the first two books in this series, which I enjoyed, and in this installment, the story focuses back to Ian and Francesca who were the main couple in the first book. Although, in this followup, it’s not all smooth sailing when hidden secrets come out which destroys their newfound happiness.

 

The revelations at the end of the second book, which was Lucien and Elise’s story, were explosive and has torn Francesca and Ian apart because of the fallout. It is spoilery so I will be hiding this in a spoiler tag just in case you haven’t read the 2nd book yet. But this becomes the main focal point of the plot.

 

[spoiler]In the revelations, Lucien explains to Ian about his real ties to him as well as his origins. Ian finds out he was conceived via rape which caused his mother disintegration with her mental illness, and that his father was also responsible in fathering numerous children.[/spoiler]

 

This leaves a huge impact on Ian which causes him to leave Francesca. The story then picks up six months later with him on the quest to find out more about his past. Francesca is picking up the pieces of her life although she is still heart-broken over the fact that Ian left her. But she is invited by his aunt and uncle to stay with them in their English estate to commission a painting there, and this is where twists and turns develop in the story.

I found this installment to be much more suspenseful and there was an almost gothic overtone with the mystery that ties in with Ian and his quest to find out more about his past. But Ian is reunited with Francesca when he finds out her life is in danger from the person who is using Francesca to draw Ian out of hiding. I really liked the mystery and suspense aspect of the plot which was more plot-heavy compared to the previous installments in this series. I also felt that it helped to delve more into the characters of Ian and Francesca which really developed them further. I found that Ian’s character became more multi-dimensional to me, and I liked that he was more vulnerable and learned to become more open about his past and feelings. I felt that this helped to uncover some facets which made him more interesting and I think the plot really helped to establish that.

It is hard to try to make this review spoiler free because of what happens with the plot and the characters, especially in the end because it really pushed the ongoing arc which was set up since the first book about Ian’s past and his family connections. And I really am intrigued about the set up for the next book which focuses on a new character who is a bit of a hermit and an eccentric and who will also be the hero. But I think the twists and turns should be spoiler free because it definitely produces a surprising turn of events in the end which I didn’t expect and it was a refreshing change from the usual tortured billionaire pasts of other similar books with this trope.

I also felt the romance between Francesca and Ian progressed further. and Kery’s love scenes were hot and well written which also helped to push the romance because there was an added vulnerability into their relationship. Both characters face their issues and Francesca definitely stands up to Ian. But at the same time empathises with his issues, and Ian learns to open up more about their relationship. I was left very satisfied with the way their story ended.

Overall, I found Because We Belong a good installment which was full of intrigue and a hot romance which becomes much more defined and cemented during the course of the series. I am also definitely looking forward to the next book, which promises to have a fun hero who definitely piqued my interest. But all in all this was a very solid romance, with in-depth characters and a plot that is memorable.

I give Because We Belong a B

 

Purchase Links:

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.