Categories
B REVIEWS B+ Review Erotic Romance Sci-Fi Romance

Review: Ice Planet Barbarians: Part One

25080613Where did you get the book: E-arc by author
Publisher: Self published
Release date: Out now
Reviewer: Has

You’d think being abducted by aliens would be the worst thing that could happen to me. And you’d be wrong. Because now, the aliens are having ship trouble, and they’ve left their cargo of human women – including me – on an ice planet.

And the only native inhabitant I’ve met? He’s big, horned, blue, and really, really has a thing for me…

***
ICE PLANET BARBARIANS is a six-part serial (like a TV show) with a new installment out every Friday. The entire storyline will be available for FREE with Kindle Unlimited, or you can wait to download the full story as a bundle for $3.99.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

With Barbarian heroes, a science fiction setting, an awesome and funny heroine, and crash landing with a planet full of weird and wacky aliens, you know you’re in store for a wonderful and entertaining serial.

I am not a huge fan of serials because I don’t have patience to wait for the next installment, and if the serial is good, then its like eating Pringles; once you pop and you can’t stop and I get frustrated waiting for the next chapter in the story. But I was lucky enough to score the full e-arc! So this made me a happy bunny. But this is a serial that does work if you do like to torture yourself with weekly episodic installments, or waiting for the entire serial so you can glom it all in one go. But dear readers, this is serial that belongs in ‘My Preciousssss’ category because unlike other series with this premise, Ruby Dixon does an engaging and gritty twist from ‘Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus’ trope, and it was fanfuctingtastic!

I loved Georgie–the heroine who awakens on an alien cargo ship with other abducted women. She use to worry about about everyday chores and a boring job as a bank teller but now she has to worry about surviving in an alien frozen world, along with the band of wounded and frightened women, when they are left stranded after being dumped by their captors.

ICE PLANET BARBARIANS is a gritty, dark, and at times uncomfortable to read.

Trigger warning:

There is a rape scene in the beginning which Georgie witnesses.

But the dark tone and grittiness is balanced with the humour with the heroine’s dry wit.

“Me? I’m just a Floridian in a stolen space suit with no weapon and a busted wrist. I know how this is going to end.”

Her first encounter with Vektal, who appears in the tail end of the story, is a highlight! It’s such a funny and very sexy first meeting. I did laugh out loud a few times because she was greeted in such a sexy but unconventional way, but a way that she definitely enjoyed! I also loved the fact that Vektal was truly alien, with ridges and horns on his head and even a tail with blue grey skin. And that they both found each other strange but were also drawn together!

Vektal was a delight. He is an alien hunter/warrior but realises that the small but strange creature he comes across in his snare is actually his mate, by which he recognises via his innate spirit force called “Khui.” I also loved how his thought processes worked especially in contrast with the heroine who countered it with humour. And it was hilarious to see them to try to communicate with each other and their assumptions which was fun to see play out.

Overall, this is a terrific start to a serial that promises to have a hot romance that is filled with wit, action and memorable characters. I was hooked within the first few pages!

I give ICE PLANET BARBARIANS: Part 1 a scorching B+!

 

 

Purchase links:

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

4 replies on “Review: Ice Planet Barbarians: Part One”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.