Categories
Best Of List 2015

Has’ Best Books of 2015

2015 was a year when I had several book slumps. It was a bit of a struggle to get into reading, although there were many stand-out books from autobuy favourite authors and new to me authors, that were memorable and enjoyable.

 

So in no particular order below are:

 

Everything I left Unsaid by Molly O’Keefe

This was my first introduction to Molly O’Keefe’s writing and I am kicking myself that I wished I picked her up earlier because she was highly recommended to me by a couple of friends. This is the first book of a duology that has a romance which was memorable and very authentic in tone as well as one of the best sexual tension build-ups I’ve read.

 

Asking For It by Lilah Pace

This is another first book of a duology which really was stark and at times difficult to read because the subject matter was so dark.  But the prose and the characterisation was just amazing and it was a book that remained with me for a long time because it was so thought provoking. This was also fantastic debut from Lilah Pace and I can’t wait what else she has in store.

 

Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh

One of the many entries from Nalini this year in my list. Archangel’s Enigma was one of the best entries in the Guild Huntress series. Naasir was a wonderful hero and I adored the playful but intense romance between him and his heroine.

 

Sustained by Emma Chase

I really enjoyed Chase’s Tangled series and I adore the witty and snarky one liners in her books which has me laughing out loud. But I think Sustained is one of the best books I read this year because there was a lot of heart and soul and poignancy as well romantic tension and comedic elements.

 

Glimmer by Beth Kery

Glimmer is another book which is part of a duology (I sense a theme this year) that I really enjoyed. Kery is amazing with building up sexual tension and erotic romance and this was one of  her best. I also loved the almost gothic tone which adds to the atmosphere of the plot and suspense which I really liked.

 

Radiance by Grace Draven

It is no secret that I am a huge fan of Grace Draven but Radiance was one of the amazing standouts this year because its premise of a marriage of convenience is like catnip for me. I adored how Draven explores cultural differences between the hero and heroine and I am in tenterhooks for the followup!

 

Rock Hard by Nalini Singh

T-Rex what can I say! I freaking loved this book and I thought the romance between Gabriel and Charlotte was fantastic. It is one of my all time favourite books by Nalini which was full of tension and fun banter. I was sad that I had to click on the last page.

 

Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

The Kate Daniels series is one of my favourite series ever and again its no secret that I adore what Ilona Andrews writes. This was a huge book that brings in several changes as well as setting up another story arc in the Kate Daniels saga. If you haven’t read this series yet, then I highly recommend that you do because it is one of the best Urban Fantasy series that is ever written.

 

Burn by Suzanne Wright

I’ve read a couple of Suzanne Wright’s books like her Werewolf series and her contemporary romance, but I picked this up on a whim during a book funk and I am so glad I did because I loved the world-building which felt refreshing and the romance which has an alpha demon lord and a resourceful likable heroine. I really hope she writes more in this series because I found it highly enjoyable and the romance hot and memorable and I would love to read more about this world.

 

The Highwayman by Kerrigan Byrne

This was my last read of 2015 although I have my review of it later this month but, what a read to end the year with. I heard so many amazing things but I never picked it up and I wished I did because it was just brilliant and definitely lived up to its hype. I loved the hero who was alpha and dark as they come and a heroine who is his match. But it was the perfect book to end the year with because I literally had a book hangover over the New Year.

 

 

Notable mentions:

The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan

Shards of Hopeby  Nalini Singh

This Gun is For Hire by Jo Goodman

Vision in Silverby  Anne Bishop

Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

The Shattered Court by M.J Scott

Sweep in Peace by  Ilona Andrews

Dark Horse by Michelle Diener

Dragos Goes to Washington, Pia Goes to Hollywood, and Liam Takes Manhattan

 

Despite my reading slumps, 2015 was a fantastic year for me in terms of favourite books and I hope this will continue on into 2016 but without the book reading funk!

 

I also wish that everyone has a fantastic New Year!

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

3 replies on “Has’ Best Books of 2015”

Bleh, I hate reading slumps. I went through a few last year as well.

Radiance was spectacular. I’ve been pushing everyone I know to read it. I also really loved Archangel’s Enigma. I’m a little behind on the Kate Daniels series though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.