Categories
B REVIEWS Contemporary Romance Suspense Thriller

Review: In His Shadow by Tiffany Snow

22304852Where did you get this book: E-arc from Netgalley
Publisher: Montlake
Release Date: Out now
Reviewer: Has

Ivy Mason is hiding—from her past, from herself, and from anyone who could love her. The only kind of love she’s ever known hurts, leaving scars on her body and soul. Now, her world may be boring and predictable, but that’s exactly what she wants. Until Devon Clay walks into her life.

A lonely man in a deadly profession, Devon works as an agent for an underground British agency known only as the Shadow. Nothing about him is safe or ordinary. The danger that consumes his life turns into an addiction Ivy can’t resist…even if it proves fatal.

As Ivy’s past begins to catch up with her, she wonders if love really is the twisted thing she’s always thought it was. Maybe it could be more with this man, who’s shown her that she doesn’t need to protect herself from everyone. Is what she feels for Devon worth the risk? He may save her heart or break it, if she manages to stay alive.
*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

I discovered Tiffany Snow early last year and quickly glommed her backlist and the last instalment in her Kathleen Turner series (which had the dreaded love triangle trope). But Snow actually made the story and love triangle work for me. While I was happy with the outcome I do hope the love interest who lost out would get his own book (pretty pretty please) because this is the reason why I dislike triangles, especially when both potentials are great choices.

But I was very intrigued with her new series which features a James Bond type hero (OMG YASSSSS!), a heroine who gets into trouble, featuring intrigue with lots of action and good old smexy times. IN HIS SHADOW starts off with a quick pace. Ivy is wary of a regular customer at her bank where she works as a teller. Although she is aware this stranger is hiding behind a mask, she is intrigued and reluctantly drawn to him. Despite the danger she senses she does fall for his advances and is then thrown into the midst of suspense and conspiracies that endanger her life.

I really liked Ivy. She had a tough and dark past, and suffered sexual abuse by a foster brother which left scars that she is still dealing with. Due to this she is happy with a boring stable life and enjoys a social life with her best friend, Logan. But despite herself, Ivy immerses herself into a relationship with Devon who despite being cool and aloof is also attracted to her.

At first I found it hard to warm up to Devon who is the epitome of the gamma hero: cold and reserved. But I liked the undertone of the sexual tension between him and Ivy, which definitely illustrated he had much deeper feelings towards Ivy than what he admitted to. However, much later into the story, I did begin to like him more because I could see that despite being too cool he was developing more into a character that had interesting dimensions.

The main plot had a few engaging twists and I enjoyed the mystery and suspense. Tiffany Snow is great in laying out thick tension and a good pace. I REALLY disliked the ending with Ivy’s decision. It wasn’t a TSTL moment but I thought she did something that not only endangered her but didn’t make sense, especially with the state of her relationship with Devon. I was also not keen on the hint of a love triangle, or quadrangle, appearing. But I really liked the FBI Agent who helps Ivy with the case she gets entangled in, and Snow has a great gift in creating memorable, likable hot love interests. I do hope these hints do not come to fruition. I rather focus on the romance between Devon and Ivy which was much more intriguing.

Nonetheless, I really enjoyed IN HIS SHADOW, despite its flaws and issues. It had all the ingredients of a good romantic suspense, and I liked the development of the relationship between Ivy and Devon which had all the hallmarks of a Tiffany Snow book. It was fast-paced and entertaining and I really like that Snow captured the elements of a debonair but dangerous secret agent in Devon. And I am definitely intrigued for the sequel which will come out this May!

I give IN HIS SHADOW a B-

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.