Categories
B Review B REVIEWS Mystery Romantic Suspense

Review: Whiteout by Adriana Anders

Publisher: Sourcebooks

Release Date: Out now

Where did you get the book: Arc from the publisher

Reviewed by Has

Angel Smith is ready to leave Antarctica for a second chance at life. But on what was meant to be her final day, the research station is attacked. Hunted and scared, she and glaciologist Ford Cooper barely make it out with their lives…only to realize that in a place this remote, there’s nowhere left to run.

Isolated in the middle of a long, frozen winter with a madman at their heels, they must fight to survive in the most inhospitable—and beautiful—place on earth. But the outside world depends on what Ford and Angel know and, as their pursuers close in and their new partnership burns bright and hot, they will stop at nothing to make it out of the cold alive. 

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

There has been a lot of buzz surrounding WHITEOUT just before it got released. I knew I would be interested because I really enjoyed Ander’s other books which feature wonderful grumpy heroes (she is the queen of gruff heroes) and the setting which is set in the deep midst of Antarctica which is such an unusual premise. So when I finally got the chance to read the book, I totally got sucked into the story which was tense and thrilling from the offset. 

Ford Cooper, is a glaciologist who is happy to focus on his work and definitely not on the new cook, Angel Smith who has unleashed uncomfortable feelings which he shuts down and freezes just like the brutal ice outside their camp. But things come to a head when his experiments uncovers a hidden danger and that his recent discovery that is contained in his ice cores would instigate an international conspiracy that would endanger his entire polar team and even the world. And while he investigates the vandalism of his study site, Angel encounters the betrayers in their group who have murdered several of her co workers and sabotaging their camp and attempt to steal the dangerous ice cores. But both Angel and Ford who helps to save her from being entombed in the ice vault below their camp escape with the tubes of cores that hold so much danger and they venture on a treacherous journey to another nearby base that hold refuge and rescue while on the run from their foes. 

The harsh and desolate backdrop of the south pole sets a fantastic and tense tone, I love and adore books which have survival in extreme environments and with a slow burn romance adds another delicious layer to the story. It was beautiful to see the iceman as Angel likes to call him slowly melt over the course of their difficult race to survival to safety. Adriana Anders really knows how to create memorable grouchy heroes and Ford is no exception. It was a delight to see him slowly turn to marshmallow with all the close proximity and cuddling to keep warm in a small tent while there’s a frozen blizzard outside while there was a lot of sizzling action and tension inside.

 Angel was also a great heroine, she has been hurt and betrayed by an ex and is slowly rebuilding her life. While she is facing obstacles with an old injury with her knee that hampers her journey across the ice, she is relentless and stubborn to keep up with Ford and not to let the bad guys win. I loved that she was the one who pushed him to keep the cores safe and that she wouldn’t give up when things become hopeless and that she really came to her own especially at the end. She was such a fantastic heroine and was one of the highlights of the book for me.

The suspense was also intriguing with shades of The X-Files classic episode ICE and The Thing although there are no aliens (so far) in the series. But the tension and even at times claustrophobic overtones of the chase by the bad guys that is set in the glaciers and bases was top notch. I was left at tenterhooks to see what happened next and Anders really captured the atmosphere perfectly. 

My only gripe is that there was a bit of conflict with the relationship between Angel and Ford.  I thought that the final resolution needed more development and there was a bit of a set up for sequels that felt rushed and that took away from their romance. But overall, this was a wonderful start of a brilliant, high octane action packed romance that promises to be enthralling and riveting. I can’t wait for the next book! 

I give WHITEOUT a B!

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.