Categories
B Review B REVIEWS Paranormal Paranormal Romance

Review: Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison

Publisher: Self published

Release date: Out now

Where did you get the book: Book was offered by the author

Reviewer: Has

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the final novella featuring Pia and Dragos…
Pia’s latest pregnancy has become a daily challenge, her relationship with Dragos strained with argument. That hasn’t stopped them from achieving a compromise and traveling to Las Vegas to celebrate their friend Rune’s wedding to his mate Carling.

From the moment they arrive, the trip goes awry. Death walks in Vegas, and Pia is kidnapped as an ancient enemy makes a move to destroy the Great Beast once and for all.

But the Great Beast has other plans.

On Planet Dragos everything goes the way he arranges it—unless someone decides to cross him, and God help them then, because he doesn’t know how to back down, and he doesn’t ever, ever let up….

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

PLANET DRAGOS is the last ever novella that focuses on the saga of Pia and Dragos and their adventures. The story opens up to a very cranky and heavily pregnant Pia and a bewildered Dragos who is the target of her pregnancy hormones while arriving at Las Vegas for Rune and Carling’s wedding. 

At their arrival, Pia is curious at a billboard advertising a magician’s event, which shows a very familiar face at a nearby casino. She decides to visit and meets Azrael. Azrael is mysterious and has a very surprising close link to her mate and discovers a few secrets about him, as well as her own past. But the discovery is laid to the wayside when Pia is kidnapped along with Carling by an old enemy of Dragos who is determined to get their vengeance. Of course Dragos and Rune are enraged when they learn of the kidnapping and there is a huge climactic battle that involves a few surprising things with imperfect timing.

Even though this is the final novella/story that focuses on Pia and Dragos, I really liked the new threads and introductions of new characters—like Azrael who is also a prime elder and the suggestion that there are more out in this universe, which is a tantalizing hint of things to come to this series. The subplot involving the vendetta of Drago’s old enemy could have been expanded and developed a bit more and I would have liked to have seen more of Azrael’s background, but overall I was very satisfied. It was also wonderful to see the HEA of Dragos and Pia is firmly cemented and I was highly entertained by the ending of the novella which showed the glimpses of little Stinkpot’s arrival and first mishaps which was hilarious and sweet. 

It is really bittersweet to say goodbye to memorable protagonists and DRAGON BOUND is one of the best PNR romances that I’ve ever read, so these characters will have a special place in my heart. But I have a feeling that we will probably see them as side characters in future books and stories. PLANET DRAGOS is a great ending to the story of Pia and Dragos and their family, and I can’t wait to see what happens next in the Elder universe which seems to heading into a different and exciting direction. 

I give PLANET DRAGOS a B! 

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.