Categories
B REVIEWS B+ Review Contemporary Romance Crime/Suspense Romantic Suspense Uncategorized

Review: Ruhtless Creatures by J.T. Geissinger

Where did you get the book: Bought 

Publisher: Self published

Release date: Out now

An explosive new novel of love, lies, and obsession from bestselling author J.T. Geissinger.

Five years ago, my fiancé disappeared. He left me with a wedding dress I’d never wear. Left me with the kind of scars that can’t be healed. The man I built my future on vanished like a ghost. All that remained were my broken heart and unanswered questions.

Until a mysterious stranger arrives in town.

Tall, dark, and dangerous, Kage is as full of secrets as he is sex appeal. Though I know he’s hiding something, I’m drawn to him like a moth to flame.

The intensity of our connection is addictive, unlike anything I’ve ever felt before. Heat crackles between us with every look, desire flares into passion, and I fall hard, unable to resist.

But when I discover how he’s tied to the darkness in my past, I learn what happens when you fly recklessly into fire:

You get burned.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

I really enjoyed Geissinger’s Dangerous duology. And in RUTHLESS CREATURES she carries on the setting and genre of another dark mafia romance with her trademark witty dialogue and heartfelt angst.

I won’t go into detailed plot points because there’s a twist within a twist which was fun how it was unveiled. But let me say the romance between Kage and Nat was filled to the brim with sexual tension that built up slowly to an infernal which I loved because when they finally got together, the consummation scene was scorching! I liked that Nat was aware that Kage laid out who he was and she went into the relationship with her eyes open although events and a haunting history does attempt to derail matters especially with her issues with her missing fiance who is now presumed dead.

But I have to say that the sex scenes were amazing and erotic and I loved the fact that Kage gave Nat agency in bed and outside of it and there is a fantastic scene which has him experience something that he loves to do with Nat before she embarks on that kink.

This was an enjoyable mafia romance that balances humour and angst beautifully and while I am not keen on the dead ex trope, how Ruthless Creatures tackles it gives it the perfect denouement!

I give Ruthless Creatures a B+!

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.