Categories
A Review A REVIEWS Historical Romance

The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton by Miranda Neville

Where did you get this book? E-arc offered by author/publisher
Publisher: Avon
Publishing date: Out now
Being kidnapped is teaching Miss Celia Seaton a few things about life:
Lesson one: Never disrobe in front of a gentleman . . . unless his request comes at gunpoint.Lesson two: If, when lost on the moors, you encounter Tarquin Compton, the leader of London society who ruined your marriage prospects, deny any previous acquaintance.Lesson three: If presented with an opportunity to get back at Mr. Compton, the bigger the lie, the better. A faux engagement should do nicely.Lesson four: Not all knowledge is found between the covers of a book. But an improper book may further your education in ways you never guessed.And while an erotic novel may be entertaining, the real thing is even better.
*Blurb taken from Goodreads*
‘Never get into a cart with a strange man’ which is the first line of the book, because the man in question will turn from helpful farmer to a nefarious robber who ends up robbing your possessions and even most of your clothes. That is the predicament that Miss Celia Seaton has fallen into as she escapes from a cottage after her robber leaves her only in her shift. But she isn’t the only one who is in the same situation as she stumbles across the unconscious and half naked form of Tarquin Compton, the fashionable and influential gentleman who scathingly criticised her and her chances to land a husband during her Season. However, Tarquin wakes up and has no recollection of his past and identity. Celia sees a way where she could get her own back on a certain Tarquin Compton, and tells a tall tale that they are engaged and that his name is Terrance Fish and that he is training to be a clergyman.

Within the first few pages, I was totally engrossed with this book and with an opening like that I knew I was in for a real treat. I found that the book had two parts: the first half focusing on the zany and fun antics of Celia and Terrance’s trip across the moors; trying to find help, clothes and food as they flee from the robber who accosted them. During this time, Celia — who I have to say was the definition of a delightful minx — spins a convoluted tale to Tarquin on how they became to be ‘engaged’ and have a series of adventures from escaping an angry mob of villagers who assume they are gypsies, to an amorous farmer who is willing to barter some of his goods for Celia.

The second half of the book concentrated on the romance, the emotional and psychological development of both Celia and Tarquin, which added a lot of depth to their characterization. The mystery of the story also kicked up a notch and the reason why Celia was targeted and abducted is explored and there were some interesting twists on how that played out.

Celia was such a fantastic heroine and I loved how Miranda Neville twisted the story  of the amnesiac plot-line in a fun and unexpected way avoiding the pitfalls of this trope which I am not a huge fan of. I also loved the interactions between Celia and Tarquin. Their witty dialogue was a joy to read and I laughed out loud several times during their antics and the events that befall them as they travelled across the moors to find a haven.

‘ “Your home is in Cornwall. Near Falmouth, on the sea.”
“A very suitable location for a family of Fishes. Are we big Fish or little Fish?”
“You told me your family is highly respected.”
“But the question is, how big is the pond in which we swim? And how many are in the shoal? Am I an orphan Fish? An only Fish? Do I have living parents or close relations?” ‘

In a lot of ways, the lie that Celia concocted helped strip all of their inhibitions and  emotional walls so that they really got to know their inner selves as well as each other. Although Celia does feel guilty about perpetuating the ruse, and when Tarquin finds out, he is understandably miffed with her that he resorts back to his cool persona and the societal rules that he hides behind. It is only in the second half of the book that their romance is really explored and developed which delves into their characters. I especially liked how they both rebelled against society in their own way by living or creating their own rules. Celia is very determined to make her own way by living by her own rules because she was unable to fit into the ones that were set out for her. Tarquin also does the same, and because he is so influential, other people follow those rules. I just loved that over the course of the book, they realised and saw through all the boundaries they set themselves and that for me propelled this book from a fun good book, to a fantastic one.

Another highlight is a book that  that features inside the story that Tarquin purchased; about a hero who goes on an amorous education himself. But Celia ends up reading the book and passes it onto her friend, Minerva. And quoting from the book:

“What do you suppose this means? ‘A deluge of spermy rapture’”  This had me cackling out loud and it was fun to read in the notes that this was a real book, and it’s good to see that bad sex scenes are universal over the ages.

I do have to say that although the mystery (the reason why Celia was followed and pursued by the robber over the course of the story) was well done, I did think that there were a few coincidences about some of the perpetrators, and it was a bit convenient on how this all tied up. But this was pretty much a minor gripe.

The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton was a rich and fulfilling story filled with laugh out loud moments, sparkling and witty dialogue, and real emotional depth in the romance. The characters, including minor ones, were a vivid and lively cast that added so much to the story. I am firmly a new fan of Miranda Neville and I implore that you get this book, because I absolutely loved it!

I give The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton an A!

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

3 replies on “The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton by Miranda Neville”

@Mandi I am def getting the rest of her backlist. I heard the prequel to this series is even better and it was def hilarious its rare for a book to make me laugh out loud like this!

@ Denise Z – Thank you! I had fun writing it and def fun reading it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.