Categories
A Review A REVIEWS Urban Fantasy

Review: Agave Kiss by Ann Aguirre

9215658Where did you get the book: Bought

 

Publisher: Roc

 

Release date: Out now

 

 

Chance was gone; he’d sacrificed himself so Shannon and I could escape Sheol. We’d raised him on Shan’s spirit radio, which meant his soul wasn’t wholly destroyed by the demon gate….

Once Corine Solomon only had the touch—the ability to read an object’s past by handling it. Then she inherited her mother’s magick, and that ended up being a hell of a burden. But if Corine can wrestle a demon queen and win, she can bring back her lover Chance after he’s made the ultimate sacrifice. Can’t she? All Corine knows is that she can’t leave Chance behind if there’s anything she can do about it.

But the clock is ticking—and she still has to deal with debt-collecting demons and a maniacal archangel who’s running a recruitment drive. The stakes have never been so high…and this time it’s truly Corine’s last chance to save the love of her life.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

 

 

Wow. I have just finished an epic journey with this series and I can’t believe it has ended. But  what a wonderful and bittersweet ending it was. When we last saw Corine Soloman, she found herself and her best friend, Shannon, in London after escaping Sheol. But there was a a huge and tragic price to pay and that was with the death of Chance who sacrificed himself to allow them to escape. Grieving and battered with the lost of her witch powers, Corine is determined to find a way to be reunited with Chance because there is hope that she could bring him back due to his divine mixed heritage. Corine also has to deal with a pissed off demon over a debt owed, an even more pissed off and dangerous archangel who wants to use her for his own agenda to start armageddon, and saving an old friend from a dire fate.

 

Agave Kiss really kicks off with a bang with the events and repercussions from the previous book and with no let up. I barely could catch a breather before Corine is faced with another problem landing in her plate and it was great! We finally discover the secrets that Booke has kept hidden and I was caught by surprised because my theory was totally wrong but it was fun to see Corine meeting him face to face for the first time. And I loved the fact even though she had own issues and problems as well as her quest to be reunited with Chance, she was determined to save Booke from his lonely fate. It was also amusing to see Booke interacting with the real world and it made me fall in love with his character because he was living life to the fullest but at the same time keeping a gentlemanly air.

 

We also get to reunite with Chuch, Eva, and Jesse. In a lot of ways this book felt like it was mirroring the first book, but it tied up all the loose ends perfectly. But one of my favourite characters, Kel, also makes an important appearance, and his role was so bittersweet but so loyal to Corine. And even though they connected romantically, briefly, in a previous book, it was always Chance who held heart and this series is really about them and their struggle to be with each other. And in Agave Kiss it was Corine’s quest to literally move heaven and earth to be reunited with Chance, and this is what the series is about for me. Both Chance and Corine made mistakes in the past and have learned from them, and seeing them being determined to be with each other really jolts the romance reader in me, but it also fits close to their characters.

 

I’ve always thought each book in the series had a different tone and feel, but reading Agave Kiss, it has combined all these elements and tied up loose plot threads in a perfect way. And even though Corine and her allies go through emotional and physical ordeals, the ending is filled with hope, new beginnings and healing.

 

 

If I had to sum up and describe what this book in two words it would be ‘epic romance’. I hope I tried not to give anything away in this review because I think it really would spoil the joy in reading the surprising twists and turns in the final installment. But Agave Kiss is a fantastic resolution in Corine’s gauntlet of adventures from discovering her past heritage and the fall-out it has brought on to her life and it ends beautifully, albeit bittersweetly. I loved every moment from following her story from the highs and lows and fast pace heart-in-throat antics. I will miss these characters but this was a beyond perfect ending. I turned the last page with a huge smile on my face. Ms Ann Aguirre, I salute you for writing a fan-fucking-tastic series!

 

 

I give Agave Kiss an A!

 

 

Purchase Links 

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.