Categories
C REVIEWS Contemporary Romance Erotic Romance

Review and Exclusive Excerpt: Since I Saw You by Beth Kery

18667768Where did you get the book: E-arc from publisher

Publisher: Berkley

Release Date: Out now

 

In the “exceptionally hot” (USA Today) Because You Are Mine, Beth Kery redefined what’s possible, what’s desirable, and what’s forbidden between a man and a woman. It’s time to go further…

 

When enigmatic billionaire Ian Noble sets Lin the task of “taming” his brilliant yet half-savage brother Kam Reardon, she eagerly accepts. She’s more than curious about the solitary genius and everything she’s heard about him. During their electric first meeting, her fascination increases a hundredfold. Kam practically oozes raw sex appeal. Lin is interested…very interested. But does her intense attraction and willingness to go places with him she’s never gone before in the bedroom really have to do with Kam? Or is her carefully hidden desire to blame for wanting a man she knows she can never have?

 

An elusive outsider, Kam avoids intimacy, yet never shies away from satisfying his erotic appetites. But there’s something different about Lin—a reserve he’s anxious to break. She’s a woman he’s eager to take his time with…and possess completely. A sophisticated beauty like her would never want him anywhere but in bed, but he finds himself unable to resist her.

 

Immediately Lin’s smooth facade is undone by Kam’s overwhelming masculinity and by his irresistible erotic demands—a lesson in subjugation that leaves Lin confused, reeling, and open to things she never thought possible. Now, as the unpredictable nights between them grow darker, Lin and Kam are certain of only one thing: they’re made for each other.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

 

Lin Soong never realised that helping to set up a business deal for Kam Reardon, who is also the brother of her boss, would be more challenging than she expected. She also never realised that spending the night with Kam would literally rock her world and change her life. But Lin’s impulsive and hot encounter spent in the arms of Kam Reardon, the reclusive genius, sparks off an intense and passionate affair between the two of them. Lin finds herself falling hard for Kam who challenges her emotionally and sexually, and invites her to explore her darker desires that cracks wide open her inner-calm resolve.

Ohhhh boy. This book was very very hot and raunchy. I was looking forward to reading this book ever since Kam first appeared as an eccentric hermit genius, and his story promised to be just as sexy and intense as Ian and Lucien’s books. I also felt that Lin was the perfect heroine for him because she was so cool, calm and collected and is very reserved and wary with getting close to people. Kam was more upfront and passionate about his feelings, despite being such a recluse, which made for an interesting combination for their romance and that certainly lived up to that on the page.

I especially loved the love scenes between Lin and Kam which were erotically charged, raw and with each encounter became much more intense. Kam certainly channeled a lot of his intensity and passion with sex, which cracked open Lin’s cool demeanor. Lin found Kam to be overwhelming and challenging but she realised that her own feelings for him became much stronger than she anticipated. Their scenes together are full of sizzling undercurrents, and I really enjoyed their romance and how it developed throughout the book.

Although I wished there was more plot to expand because while I really enjoyed the romance, and the sex scenes were scorching hot, I did find that the romance was more focused on the characters. This affected the pace of the book, especially in the first half which I found to be much slower compared to the previous entries in this series, although no less intense. In fact, I think this was much more passionate and sexier book to date in this series, I just wished there was more to the plot which I found to be the weakest aspect of the story for me even though I loved the characterisation and the romance which developed very well.

Overall, SINCE I SAW YOU had one of the most blistering hot love scenes I’ve read recently, which I would have liked more of a quicker pace and more plot to the romance, I really enjoyed this installment in Beth Kery’s erotic romance series. Both Kam and Lin were engaging and likeable leads and I liked the quiet tone which had a real depth of fierce intensity with their romance.

 

I give SINCE I SAW YOU a C+

 

Purchase Links:

 

Thanks to Penguin/Berkley we have an exclusive excerpt taken from SINCE I SAW YOU.

SINCE I SAW YOU, Available 5/6/14

By Beth Kery

“Lin seems to be of the opinion that you might be more comfortable with me there instead of her tonight,” Ian said.

“Is she?” Kam asked, giving Lin a glance. He wasn’t shocked, precisely, but he was irritated. As he stared at her, however, a different feeling crept into his awareness: curiosity. Her throat looked exceptionally white and flawless next to her dark, upswept hair and the dress. It tightened as she swallowed.

“I just think a family member might ease things for you more than I can,” she said, her low, honey-smooth voice at odds with the delicate, quick flutter of the pulse at her throat.

“So you’re not up to it,” Kam said. “Funny, you seemed up for the challenge the other night.”

Her gaze flashed to meet his, and this time he clearly sensed her anger flowing toward him like a cold, clear stream. “I didn’t say I wasn’t up for it,” she said.

“Then why are you trying to pawn me off onto Ian?”

“It’s not a matter of . . .” She faded off when she looked at Ian and noticed his curious stare, as if Ian, too, had wondered the same question. So . . . Lin definitely hadn’t revealed to her boss any of the dirty details of Monday night. He’d wondered. Was that because she was worried about her job or because she was personally embarrassed about having had sex with him? He noticed the delicate stain of pink on her cheeks and decided on the latter. Her lush, rosebud mouth flattened.

“It was just a suggestion on my part, that’s all. Ian is on more familiar terms with the Gersbachs,” she said evenly.

Kam slouched back in the chair. “If you aren’t up for doing it, that’s fine by me. The whole thing is a joke, so it hardly matters to me who’s in on the laugh.”

Her head swung around at that. “Who is going to be laughing? And at what?”

“Presumably the Gersbachs at my rustic ways, isn’t that what you and Ian are worried about?” he replied without pause. “But don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll get a good laugh out of the whole thing as well.”

“Do you often think people are laughing at you?” she asked with quiet sarcasm. “That’s called paranoia, Kam. No one is laughing at you, or is going to be laughing at you. You think far too much of yourself if you think you affect other people so much.”

She started back slightly when he laughed. Kam’s burst of amusement faded and was replaced by guilt when he saw how stunned Lin looked by his impulsive reaction. He knew it’d been rude, but her depiction of him had given him a sudden bird’s‑eye view of himself—a bitter, paranoid loner who was more comfortable with his dog than with most people. The vision had struck him as apt, sad, and strangely comical as well.

“I get it,” Lin said, recovering from his harsh bark of laughter and turning away from him dismissively. “It’s easy to stand on the sidelines and jeer.”

Irritation spiked through him. A movement broke his focus on Lin, briefly fracturing his attention. Ian sat behind his desk, a very untypical expression of rapt bemusement on his face as he watched the two of them.

“If you don’t think I’m going to be a source of amusement in all these meetings you have planned, why are you backing out of them?” Kam demanded of Lin.

“I don’t appreciate your disdain for the proceedings,” she said, picking at an invisible piece of lint on her dress and sweeping it away. “You’re determined to ruin the whole thing without even really trying. It’s an insult to all the preparation I’ve done.”

“At least I was willing to show up tonight. More than you can say.”

“So you actually want me there?” she demanded, giving him a sideways glare.

“I figure you’re the best bet I have.”

Her nostrils flared slightly as they faced off in the silence.

“I couldn’t have said it better myself,” Ian said. Both Lin and he turned to look at him.

“Yeah. I’m still here,” Ian said drolly under his breath.

Posted by arrangement with Berkley Books, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Beth Kery, 2014.

Beth Kery lives in Chicago where she juggles the demands of her career, her love of the city and the arts, and a busy family life.  Her writing ftoday reflects her passion for all of the above.  She is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Because You Are Mine.  Find out more about Beth and her books at BethKery.com andFacebook.com/Beth.Kery.

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.