Categories
A REVIEWS B REVIEWS Contemporary Romance

Bookpushers Joint Review – Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss #1) by Nalini Singh

22839846
Publisher: Self
Publish Date: Out now
How we got this book: ARC from the author

A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…

Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.

A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…

Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…
This blurb came from the author’s http://www.nalinisingh.com website.

1. Thoughts on the Hero

E: Fox umm WOW! So determined, coming from a not exactly settled family situation to the lead singer in a rock band formed with his high school friends. I loved how he has his eyes set on Molly and decided rather quickly that he wanted a lot more than the one-night stand he initiated. He was so not used to being rejected or having to work to build a relationship I found it a lot of fun to watch him get mad, then come up with a new way to try to convince Molly he was worth the risk. He was also so unashamedly sexual it was a treat to see but he also never used it to make Molly feel he expected her to have the same level of experience. In fact he was the one to refuse to to avoid sex when she tried to use it as a shield against emotion. I also loved his interactions with his band mates and support crew. I thought they really showed who he was and how much he valued friendship. I also loved how he showed his vulnerability to Molly when she inadvertently hurt him and how he tried to give her an escape if she needed it given her past.

Has: I do like my obsessive heroes who knows what they want when they see the One and Fox definitely fitted that definition! I also loved how he totally falls hard for Molly, who was pretty stubborn in trying not to fall into his spell. Nalini Singh crafted a great hero with him and especially he gave Molly the time and patience to work out her issues even though it got a bit too angsty with her reticence about their relationship at times. But I loved how much Fox’s character developed within the book, and I agree with you about him opening up to Molly about his past which added a layer with their relationship. They both shared similar pasts with concerning their issues about their parents which becomes a bit of an emotional barrier with their relationship. However, I loved that instead of dragging their issues out, they were both working on overcoming up their hangups and growing and learning to becoming a couple.

I also loved Fox’s relationship with his friends and band-mates, and there was definitely a sense of a close family. I hope that we get to see more of them in the future because they were vibrant cast of characters.

2. Thoughts on the Heroine

E: Molly was also a very complicated character and enjoyable to read. Wounded emotionally and very untrusting of men in specific and most people in general from her experience as a young teenager. I liked seeing her interactions with her half-sister Thea and her best friend Charlotte. From the beginning those relationships showed she wasn’t emotionally detached just cautious but also capable of taking a chance. Molly had to work so hard overcoming her fears to build a relationship with Fox. I loved how his persistence surprised her and when she provided him with the tools to find out why she was so reluctant, the courage it took. I also really admired how she developed her own friendship with the people who were already part of Fox’s life instead of remaining separate.

Has: I liked Molly, although it did take awhile for me to warm up to her character, although I could understand her reluctance in falling too deep with Fox especially with her past and inexperience. But because Fox was such a great hero, instead of demanding and expecting things from her, she began to open up and trust him. Molly was the one who intialialised things to take their relationship into a deeper and committed level and I was glad she overcome her fears and doubts of getting involved with Fox. I especially felt in the second half, despite the problems or the events that crop up they both worked on overcoming their issues and became a team. It did show how much they learned to trust and become committed with each other!

3. Favorite Scene

E: I had several scenes I really enjoyed in this story ranging from a press conference, a trip to the zoo, a surprise jam session in a club, certain phone calls about a T-Rex of a boss but the one I want to talk about it one towards the beginning that made me giggle. Fox has returned to where he was staying after his first encounter with Molly and instead of going to his own place, he went to visit Noah, one of his band mates. The conversation they had and their struggles when it came to making a decent cup of coffee really set the stage. It grounded Fox and Noah as characters for me while allowing Fox to admit to himself exactly what he wanted with Molly.

Has: I had several too, and you mentioned a couple with the press conference, the zoo and Noah’s conversation. But I also felt the scene where Molly confronted Fox in his studio was a turning point too because previously he would offer support and comfort as well emphasising his commitment with their relationship. But this time, it was Molly who didn’t question herself or their romance by forcing him that she was there for him. I really liked that role reversal and it made them stronger with dealing with the effects of fame and the hassles it could bring.

4. Dislike about book

E: Even after rereading this story I remained as engrossed in the characters and their interactions as I did the first time so I don’t have any dislikes.

Has: I did find the beginning a bit jarring, I wished there was more of a build-up with the introduction to the characters because it started straight off with their hot one night stand. Although there was a lot of emotional and backstory buildup with Molly and Fox’s past but it did make me wish there was time to set up the characters before hand. And it also took me awhile to warm up to Molly’s character, although the second half was much better and it did show there was a lot of growth and development with the romance and the characters.

5. Any other misc. thoughts along with grade

E: I really enjoyed this introduction to the Rock Kiss series. Singh packed a punch with her characters, their situations, struggles, and challenges of life in the limelight. I am also very intrigued by the other band members, Thea (Molly’s sister), and Charlotte (Molly’s best friend). The seeds and hints planted for romance and yet to be revealed back stories of those individuals really have my interest. I can’t wait to see what happens next in this series. Singh has demonstrated once again why she is on my auto-buy list regardless of the genre.

I give Rock Addiction an A+

Has: I definitely agree! I think this is a great start to the series despite my issues with the beginning of the book. The romance was enjoyable and very steamy (which got even hotter as the book went along), and I loved the supporting characters who I hope to see that they will get their own stories. I think Nalini Singh did a fabulous job of a rock star romance which was full of heat, humour as well as the problems and effects of fame has on a relationship. Fox was a fantastic hero and Molly was a perfect match for him and I am really looking forward to the next installment!

I give Rock Addiction a B-

 

Links to purchase:

 

 

Note: We would like to apologise to the blog tour organisors, Rock Stars of Romance for the missing promo images. I had a mishap with my inbox which deleted your email with the blog tour info by accident. We are really sorry about this.

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

One reply on “Bookpushers Joint Review – Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss #1) by Nalini Singh”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.