Categories
B Review B REVIEWS B- Review B+ Review Erotic Romance

The Affair by Beth Kery (Parts 5 to 8)

24904468Where did you get the book: E-arc by the publisher

Publisher: Berkley Intermix

Release Date: Out now (Full omnibus book will be out 1st September)

Reviewer: Has

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When unconventional hospice nurse Emma Shore secured a new position at the Breakers, the sprawling mansion of enigmatic and dangerously handsome racecar billionaire Michael Montand, she had no idea how soon she’d be drawn into his darker sexual games—or that it would be her own fantasies that would hold her captive.

Michael knew he shouldn’t have engaged such an innocent woman to share in his desires. But strong sexual appetites and selfishness run in his blood.

From Michael’s luxurious lakeside home to the sun-drenched, sensual shores of the French Riviera, Emma submits again and again to his intoxicating power. But she knows there is only one way to protect her heart.

The affair will continue, but under her conditions: Only she can end it, and when it’s over, they will part and never speak again of the things they dared to do behind locked doors.

Blurb taken from Goodreads

Part Two of The Affair Review

22447548

Part 5

Part five of Vanni and Emma’s affair really intensifies. Both of them are starting to fall deeper into each other’s spell. Emma also learns more about Vanni’s past which is full of tragedy of people he loves who died, including his brother who drowned which has made him wary and closed off to being vulnerable and intimate with people. But with Emma he is beginning to realise that he is developing stronger feelings and I loved how he comes to that revelation. Yet in contrast Emma is the one who is more closed off and reserved but fully embraces their sexual relationship, and I have to say I LOVED the love scene towards the end of this installment which was smoking hot!

I give Part 5 a B+

Part 6

22447549

This installment heats up with tension and emotional stakes are heightened, although they both stick to their agreement of a month for the time-span of their affair. I really liked how Beth Kery has a way to embody emotional undertones with her love scenes. The scenes between Vanni and Emma became more intimate, and I definitely felt that the heat intensity notched up a few degrees. This entry, also felt a bit more of an interlude before the big buildup and ending of their agreement.

I give Part 6 a B-

Part 7 and 8

22090890
While these last two installments had fast cars, a glamorous setting, and family drama that sets an exciting tone, it also sets up the subplots with Vanni’s past which had some interesting twists and turns. Although this was not my favourite part of the book, which sorts of let down the tension within the story because I didn’t like what Emma did when faced with a difficult choice. I also didn’t think it was realistic. I did love that both Emma and Michael wanted to embark deeper into their relationship without any inner angst and it was a really sweet and heartwarming love story. Yet the conflict which emerged from outside sources didn’t fully work out and I think it made Emma a bit too much of a martyr but there is something huge and life threatening that gave her an epiphany which made her realise her decision was wrong. But I adored their reunion and again I loved the role reversal in the romance with Emma being the one in the driver’s seat because Vanni gave her the control. That was really refreshing and I loved how this added a different dimension to their romance.
24904468

Overall, THE AFFAIR is a terrific and heartwarming romance and while I wasn’t enamoured of a subplot that involved Vanni’s aunt, I did think the romance and setting had a gorgeous passionate overtone which was sweet and sexy. I also loved how Kery incorporated themes of betrayal and forgiveness, which really worked with a character like Emma, and it added a lovely poignant feel to the story.

I give THE AFFAIR an overall B!

Purchase Links:

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.