Categories
C REVIEWS C+ Review Erotic Romance New Adult

Review: Asking For More by Lilah Pace

28965944How far is too far?

Finally sure of each other’s strength and love, Jonah and Vivienne continue to explore their darkest fantasies together. However, what should be a night of ecstasy takes a dangerous turn, injuring Vivienne. She shrugs off the incident, but Jonah is haunted by it, particularly by the fear that others may believe he abuses her, or even glimpse the truth of their erotic obsession.

Then Jonah receives a call from his younger sister, Rebecca, who’s dealing with trouble of her own in South America. When Vivienne travels with him to aid Rebecca, she learns yet more about his tortured history—and Jonah opens up to Vivienne as never before.

Can Vivienne help Jonah cast off the shadows of his past forever?

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

Lou: Lilah Pace was one of my stand-out authors of last year in her duology featuring Vivienne and Jonah; two individuals with dark and abusive pasts that have found love with one another, with the safety and freedom to explore their darkest desires of rape fantasies and forced seduction.

I was surprised and excited when I saw that Pace had written a novella, returning to Viv and Jonah after their HEA in Begging For It. Asking For More returns to the couple when Rebecca, Jonah’s sister, is mugged in South America. The story isn’t so much about Rebecca and that side-plot, but it’s a glimpse into Viv and Jonah’s life where they are still healing and dealing with the aftermaths of their pasts, especially Jonah, who fears that one day he might hurt Viv in one of their roleplays.

Asking For More was a likeable read but nothing much happens in the novella and I was hoping for more of a longer story with Rebecca.  Nonetheless, it was nice seeing Jonah and Viv and how they’re navigating their lives as a couple. While their role playing fantasies are still apart of their lives, it’s not the center. Viv has come on a lot and in this novella she’s the strong pillar for Jonah to lean on. There is an equal balance between them as a couple, which has always been there throughout this series.

I would call Asking For More an extended epilogue more than a novella. And I wonder if Pace will return to this world and create stories for the rest of Jonah’s siblings. I can only hope!

I give Asking For More a C+

Has: Asking For It, was also a standout book for me last year because even though the subject matter was hard to read, I felt that Lilah Pace tackled this issue with depth and insight and the multifaceted romance was amazing to read. So I was also excited to hear that there was a followup to the duology because I wanted to read more about Viv and Jonah and to see how far their HEA has come from the events in the second book.

Like Lou, has stated above, Asking For More is like an extended epilogue which I enjoyed, although there are no major changes or developments from the previous two books, it does firmly establish the romance and the HEA for Viv and Jonah. I also liked the catch up to some of the secondary characters such as Rebecca (who I hope will have a future story in the future).  Another aspect that I really liked about the story, is that Viv and Jonah have continued to work out their issues and explored their sexuality more fully. It was great to see that Viv was enjoying sex more outside of the rape scenarios which was a huge focus for her in previous books. I felt that their relationship was so much stronger although Jonah was still battling a lot of issues, but that they both were tackling them together as a couple.

Overall, while there wasn’t any huge changes and this was like extended epilogue, I did enjoy the post HEA ending for Jonah and Viv, and this is a fantastic ending for a romance that had a powerful emotional punch for me.

I also give Asking For More a C+

Purchase Links: 

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.