Categories
A Review A REVIEWS Contemporary Romance New Adult Review

Review: Lick by Kylie Scott

17983690Where did you get the book: E-arc from author/Blog-tour

Publisher: Momentum Books

Release Date: Out now

 

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

 

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

 

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

*Blurb taken from Goodreads*

When Evelyn Thomas wakes up hungover in her hotel bathroom, she is left wondering why she has a huge ring on her finger and what the hell happened to the previous night that led to that condition. She also didn’t bank on a handsome stranger asking if she’s okay, and she definitely didn’t expect him to be her newly-wedded husband, David. Evelyn is also further shocked that she has a tattoo with David’s name firmly inked on her butt. One thing she has learned that drinking Tequila is evil and she’ll never drink it again. And because of her tequila fueled amnesia, Evelyn and David decide to part ways and to arrange an annulment. But soon the paparazzi and the tabloids have caught wind of their nuptials and Evelyn’s structured world and plans are in disarray, and she is offered a chance to escape at David’s house to work out their annulment. However, their attraction between them still crackles with tension and their hasty marriage may not be a mistake at all.

 

When I heard that Kylie Scott (who has become one of my favourite debut authors this year) was going to publish a NA with a rockstar hero, I had a feeling it was going to be fantastic and I’m proud to say my feelings were right! Lick was scrumptious and delicious and I ate it all up in one sitting. Not only does LICK did have an adorable romance between Evelyn and David, it also had Kylie Scott’s trademark humour, and I love her grasp of characterisation and dialogue. It feels genuine and real which really helps to make the romance sparkle because that is how I would sum up this book. It really really sparkles with dialogue and tension.

 

The characters of Evelyn and David were also very well drawn out and developed. I liked how in the beginning of the book, their romance began in a crazy impulsive act which reflects the exciting but impulsive life that David is living which sucks for Evelyn because she lives her ordered life, and she has The Plan that’s set for her future. But at the same time, she becomes his touchstone which helps to ground him and I loved that dynamic between them because they both learned from each other especially with Evelyn’s growth. Kylie Scott has really hit it out of the ball park with the highlighting themes of NA. Evelyn’s character, who over the course of the book, finds out what she doesn’t want in life but is open for a new path, and I really like how she comes across that realisation.

 

However, the romance was just sublime. I loved chemistry and the banter which was genuine and authentic. I can’t say enough good things about how she just nails it right with the feelings, actions and with Evelyn and David. It didn’t feel wangsty or forced, especially when they rediscovered their attraction the second time round, which was heady and sexy. The tension was just fantastic. And for those readers who love grovelling heroes… well there is an awesome example of a hero who lost the love of his life due to stupidity and insecurity, and it was brilliant on how he won Evelyn back. I was so rooting for them by the end to sort out their issues and it was very very satisfying to click to the last page. I just wanted to read more!

 

I also have to highlight the supporting characters who were just as fun, and a very special mention of Mal, who is David’s bandmember (I am impatiently waiting for his book!). Mal became one of my favourite characters and I have to illustrate a fun scene because he was funny, charming and he really made a lasting impression. I definitely suspect he will do the same if you pick up this book.

Chuckling quietly, Mal ambled in. “Date night, seriously … what the fuck is that about? Old people are the weirdest. Dude, you can’t put broccoli on pizza.”

“Yeah, you can.” David kept busy, scattering peppers around the little trees of broccoli.

“No,” said Mal. “That’s just not right.”

“Shut up. Ev wants broccoli on the pizza, then that’s what she gets.”

Ice-cold, lovely, sweet soda slid down my throat, feeling all sorts of good. “Don’t stress, Mal. Vegetables are your friend.”

“You lie, child bride.” His mouth stretched wide in disgust and he retrieved a bottle of juice from the fridge. “Never mind. I’ll just pick it off.”

“No, you’re going out,” said David. “Me and Ev are having date night too.”

“What? You’re fucking kidding me. Where am I supposed to go?”

David just shrugged and scattered pepperoni atop his steadily growing creations. “Oh, come on. Evvie, you’ll stand up for me, won’t you?”

Mal gave me the most pitiful face in all of existence. It was sadness blended with misery with a touch of forlorn on top. He even bent over and laid his head on my knee.

“If I stay in town they’ll know we’re here.”

“You’ve got your car,” said David.

“We’re in the middle of nowhere,” Mal complained. “Don’t let him throw me out into the wild. I’ll get eaten by fucking bears or something.”

“I’m not sure they have bears around here,” I said.

“Cut the shit, Mal,” said David. “And get your head off my wife’s leg.”

With a growl, Mal straightened. “Your wife is my friend. She’s not going to let you do this to me!”

“That so?” David looked at me and his face fell.

“Fuck, baby. No. You cannot be falling for this shit. It’s only one night.”

I winced. “Maybe we could go up to our room. Or he could just stay downstairs or something.” David shoved his hands through his hair. The bruise on his poor cheek, I needed to kiss it better.

His forehead did that James Dean wrinkling thing as he studied his friend.

“Jesus. Stop making that pathetic face at her. Have some dignity.” He cuffed the back of Mal’s head, making his long blonde hair fly in his face. Skipping back, Mal retreated beyond the line of fire.

“Alright, I’ll stay downstairs. I’ll even eat your shitty broccoli pizza.”

 

If you aren’t keen on NA, I implore you to read this book. And if you do love NA, I implore you to read this book. It doesn’t fall into the pitfalls of some books I can think of, and it does feature the typical rock star setting which is gaining steam right now. LICK is fresh, sexy, delightful, and an adorable romance with flawed but likeable characters. I think this is going to be a huge breakout hit for Kylie Scott which is well deserved because this is one lickalicious book which is firmly in my top ten best books this year!

I give LICK an A!

 

Purchase Links:

By Has

Has is a voracious reader and a geek at heart! She is a fan of most sub-genres of romance and fantasy, but especially loves fantasy and some sci fi. She's currently looking out for historical romances with unusual settings, and fantasy romance, in the vein of Anne Bishop and Elizabeth Vaughan who are on her list of favourite authors. She's also a fan of authors such as Tamora Pierce, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Nalini Singh. She is always on the look out for new authors and loves the feeling of discovering a brand new author and books she loves.

5 replies on “Review: Lick by Kylie Scott”

Great excerpt. Mal is so funny, I can’t wait for his book either. I’m so glad I went ahead and bought this book. I especially loved that Ev was not a doormat and didn’t let David just walk all over her, even though he was a rock star and all that.

I am always wary of rock star romances. It seems the idea them is better than the actual story, at least for me, but I did thoroughly enjoy Lick and can’t wait to read more in this series.

@Debbie it stands for New Adult – its kind of post YA featuring themes where the protagonists are just branching into adult life. Most settings is set around Colleges or first jobs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.